Tags

, , , , , ,

It may be well into fall, but this plate tastes full of summer!

It’s hard to believe Thanksgiving is almost here! November seems to have forgone its customary creep and these brisk days have flown right by, hustled along by the hurricane perhaps? I am usually thankful when summer ends, but this fall has been wet and dreary, the bright leaves we usually admire for weeks were washed off the trees in a matter of days. So while I try to eat as seasonably as I can, I have found myself still craving fresh greens and citrus flavors, the rest of my family seems to feel the same way as well. The other night, in search of a quick supper and with a yawningly empty crisper I devised this cleaver little salad, quickly devoured by 69 year old grandfathers, an almost 7 year old and a veggie obsessed two year old. I served it with a winter squash soup and some fresh bread and it was an absolutely perfect light meal. The soup was a bit of a disappointment, though, I usually use butternut or kabocha squash but all I had was this gigantic blue hubbard…even though I roasted it first the soup texture still seemed a bit off, though the flavor was fresh and light, which was a nice change.

The squash soup. Looks tasty enough but it was pretty blah.

Avocado, Tomato and Cucumber Salad with Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette

Avocado, Tomato and Cucumber Salad with Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette

1/2 European cucumber

1/2 pint cherry tomatoes

1 avocado

2 tsp fresh cilantro, minced

1/4 cup olive oil

2-3 Tbsp lime juice

1 clove garlic, crushed

2 tsp honey or agave

salt and pepper

Cut all the veggies into 1/4-1/2 inch chunks, depending on your preference (I did 1/2 inch). In a medium sized glass bowl mix all the remaining ingredients and whisk until smooth. Add the veggies and gently toss, refrigerate for one hour, tossing gently every do often, so flavors meld. Add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy alone or over beans on a tostada, with tortilla chips or over poached chicken!