Tags

, , ,

 

I am not a biscuit..but I want to be.

 

 

When it’s…well…just not.

As promised today was a horrible day, possibly not AS horrible as it could have been, but still horribly horrible. Did I mention it was horrible? I needed to leave work early today for an appointment and given my morning I was a bit frazzled. I had all intentions of going back to work but a series of mishaps occurred whereby I somehow managed to break both a self checkout lane in Shaws AND two gas pumps.

And I almost peed my pants because I was trying to stay hydrated and then had to frantically search for a bathroom somewhere off the highway. Those of you who have had a baby can empathize…when it’s time to go, it’s time to GO.

I came home to a lovely soup/stew (what does Rachel Ray call them? stoups?) that I started brewing this morning in the crockpot. The recipe was supposed to be very Brazilian in nature, but honestly it just tasted like black bean soup to me, albeit a good one! I had to do some major tweaking to the recipe, so while I used the Joy of Cooking as the original guide the soup is greatly changed.

Slow-cooked Brazilian Black Bean Soup

2 cups dried black beans

water to cover

1 medium onion, diced

4 cloves garlic, minced

rind and juice of 2 oranges

1 mango, peeled and diced

1 cup crushed tomatoes

3 cups water

1 Tbsp dry sweetener (I used coconut crystals)

3 Tbsp cumin

2 tsp all purpose seasoning

1 tsp salt

1 tsp red pepper flakes

pepper

chopped cilantro

  • Cover the black beans with 2 inches of water and leave to soak overnight. In the morning drain them and rinse thoroughly.
  • Dump all the ingredients into a crockpot, stir, and turn on low.
  • Leave and go to work for 8 hours.
  • Come home to a house smelling like the islands!
  • Garnish with cilantro and other things if you want…cheese, sour cream…

This soup really was delicious, although I couldn’t really taste any of the fruit, which maybe is a good thing. It did have a nice tang and a little bite to it, you could add more heat if you wanted but my family can barely tolerate black pepper so I kept it mild. Do add the cilantro though, it adds a fresh, clean dimension this soup really needs.

So, onto the “biscuits”. I wanted something that went well with soup, and I felt like it was a good night for biscuits. Of course they have to be gluten free so I decided to try a gluten-free pumpkin biscuit made with baking powder. I am not sure where I went wrong but these did not rise AT ALL, they were basically pumpkin crackers. Any idea? They were still really yummy and not too dense, and the pumpkin was an excellent complement to the soup (actually I was thinking I should have added THAT to the soup).

Pumpkin “Biscuits”

1 cup brown rice flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp shortening

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 cup milk

I made these the way I normally make biscuits, cut in the shortening with the dry ingredients, add the wet and mix and knead, then roll out and cut. I baked them at 325 degrees for about 12 minutes until they were golden, but there was absolutely no rise..any idea where I went wrong?

This dinner was perfect after a stressful day, we had some rainbow chard to round it out. I had to have a little chat with myself because I was STARVING (due to the Shaws mishap I hadn’t eaten since 10 am) and wanted to snarf down all those pumpkin crackers, but I didn’t! I ate one and my bowl of soup and chard and coached myself through 20 minutes of waiting.

Of course I was full at that point, really full…thank goodness I didn’t eat more crackers!

I wrapped up my evening with a little yoga, if you haven’t tried Yoga Today I really encourage you to try it. They have video practices for everyone from novices to experienced yogi’s and the classes are challenging but really helpful and have good instruction (Sarah Kline is my favorite instructor). I did a full body detox which energized my spine and made me feel much calmer. Sarah focuses a lot on kriya’s, which are faster repetitions of exercises, great if you are a bit ADD like me. I was going to post more photo’s of me doing yoga but my armpit stubble shows in them so you are out of luck!

I am happy to be back on my road to wellness, I feel so much better and more centered and able to handle the slings and arrows of life. What about you? What keeps you grounded?

 

