Tags

, , , ,

 

When the going gets tough...eat some kale.

 

 

I’m not going to lie, it’s been a rough couple of months for me, and today it came to a head in a big way. Tomorrow I will have probably the worst day I have ever had at work..and while I can’t be more specific I am sure you can figure it out. It’s a rough economy, healthcare is suffering, we are looking at increased benefit costs…you take it from there. All of this increased stress and pressure at work coupled with all our recent transitions have made me a genuine basketcase, which is why you haven’t seen me blogging about project CUE. I managed to gain five pounds due to a greater than average consumption of wine and chocolate, and while I won’t doubt their great healing properties it just isn’t the healthiest approach long term.

So I am working on getting back on track. One of the issues I run into when I gain weight or diverge from my healthy lifetyle is that I tend to beat myself up relentlessly and obsess over my intake, which in turn leads me to eat more because I am always thinking of food and deprive myself to the point where I am starving. Over the last six weeks I developed a sudden case of vertigo, so severe that it limited my activity and led my neurologist to speculate that it was MS or a malignancy. Thankfully it is not, and while the cause no longer life threatening, I really began to think about health and its importance vs. weight. So for now my focus is feeding my body the right balance and making sure I am well hydrated…I wish I could say I had it all figured out and could be some sort of wellness guru, but I am just not there…yet.

Tonight I needed my cooking therapy in a bad way, but I didn’t want to make any more sweets. Izzie has been begging me for weeks to make rice balls, which I made for her once and she never forgot. I thought tonight would be a good night to make them given that she needed some snacks for her lunchbox tomorrow and I wanted to make her something healthy.

 

Sushi rice cooking.

 

 

Toasted Sunflower Rice Balls

1/2 cup sushi rice

1 cup water

1/4 sheet nori, cut into strips

1 tsp chia seeds

1 Tbsp sunflower seeds, toasted and chopped

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp Braggs

  • In a small saucepan bring rice, water and nori to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until rice is cooked, about 20-30 mins.
  • Add Braggs, sesame oil, chia, and toasted sunflower seeds.
  • Allow mixture to cool to room temperature.
  • Wet hands and roll rice mixture into small balls, use a small ice cream scoop if necessary.

What about all of you? How do you handle a healthy slip-up?


 

