Tags

, , ,

I am not kidding, I make the best pumpkin whoopie pies ever. Seriously, I will send you some and make you a believer.

I first made these whoopie pies about two years ago for a fund raiser for Izzie’s school. They were so unbelievably popular that they sold out in abut 15 minutes and I spent the next month being inundated with orders and requests for them at various functions. The recipe itself is pretty close to a Rachel Ray version, but the filling is all my own. I am very particular about my whoopie pie filling, it shouldn’t be too heavy..it should be light and fluffy…like a cloud in a a heaven made of sugary sweetness with a hint of vanilla.

Just writing this makes me hungry.

By the way, have you ever thought about where whoopie pies come from? Because I have. It turns out the history of the whoopie pie dates back to the Amish in Pennysylvania. They used to make them for the farmers lunchboxes, back then they were called hucklebucks. The term “whoopie pie” was apparantly coined because the children would yell “Whoopie!” when they found them in their lunch. I would too! The things you learn from Wikipedia..

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  • 1 1/2 sticks  unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin puree
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons  vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-2/3 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup softened shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer cream the butter until smooth. Add the sugar and cream until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs, pumpkin puree, spices, vanilla, the baking powder, the baking soda and salt. Beat until smooth, add the flour slowly and beat slowly until mixed
  3. Using an ice cream scoop or tablespoon, drop 12 generous mounds of batter, spaced evenly, onto each baking sheet. Bake until springy to the touch, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool completely. To make the filling, blend the last 4 ingredients with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, you may need to add more powdered sugar. Filling should be light and fluffy but still spreadable. Spread liberal amounts of filling on one cookie and add the other half on top.

Just as an aside, I have not abandoned my healthy eating portion of this blog, but I have been writing a longer post about my health and recent developments and my plans for continued wellness, but for now please enjoy the goodies and rest assured I am not eating too many of them!

