Here at Chez Feed Ze People we have been a bit under the weather, fighting a terrifically vigorous rhinovirus that leaves our usually discerning palates unable to distinguish between a fine piece of French toast and a slab of cardboard. It’s a bit uncharacteristic, Izzie and I tend to have very healthy constitutions, Jaime is a bit more vulnerable as she is not exposed to the daily Petri dishes Izzie and I are. Between snuffles we have been cultivating some wellness in various ways. Of course it started with the usual; retail therapy.

It’s kind of funny really, we are frugal to a fault but we do keep ourselves well fed and stocked with good wine and supplements. The boxes you see are a MIRACLE we found about a year ago called Sambucol. It must be made of liquid diamonds or something because it’s about umpteen million dollars a bottle but the stuff works like a charm and actually tastes good.

And butter of course, because THAT’S good for phlegm…oh well.

When I am feeling germy and gross I like to do two things; eat soup and have a mini spa day. I had a lovely little mini spa using recipes from my latest Yoga Journal..they made me feel like some sari draped Ayurvedic goddess…except I was wearing well-worn PJ’s rather than a sari. My ritual started off by warming a tablespoon or so of olive oil in the microwave and dropping in a few drops of tea tree oil. You can use something else..I use tea tree because I have so much dandruff I could easily be Ally Sheedy’s understudy for the Breakfast Club. massage it in slowly and relax for about ten minutes, then shampoo it out…I recommend doing this on a weekend because even after you shampoo it out your hair will be kind of greasy for a few days.

On to the facial! Take 2 teaspoons flax seed meal and mix with enough water to form a paste. In a different bowl combine 2 tablespoons Greek yogurt, 1 tsp raw honey and a pinch of turmeric..stir. I now advise you to get in the bath because this gets messy. Wet your face with warm water and massage the flax paste around your face in slow circles. Reserve a wet washcloth to throw at your partner for laughing hysterically at your “face covered in brown snot”. Rinse thoroughly and apply the turmeric mask, leave on for about ten minutes and rinse with warm water.

Make sure to rinse the tub out after or you will catch a huge ration of you-know-what for not cleaning up after yourself.

I also made this..I intended it to be nice and smoky, a hearty roasted veggie soup…but that didn’t really work out and it was quite light, which was fine as well.

End of Summer Soup

2 cups cherry tomatoes

1 cup chopped yellow squash

3 large carrots, cut into half-moons

3 cloves garlic, smashed

2 Tbsp garlic

1 cup broth (I used the water from blanching mustard greens and chard)

1 handful fresh basil

salt and pepper

various garnishes: fresh basil, goat cheese, mozzarella, roasted pumpkin seeds

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a shallow roasting pan combine tomatoes, squash, carrots, garlic and olive oil and mix. Roast for 20-30 minutes or until tender. Heat broth in a small pot and add veggies. Using an immersion blender, puree until smooth. Heat for ten minutes to allow flavors to combine, add chopped basil for the last two minutes or so. Garnish as you see fit!

This had a lovely bright flavor, I served it alongside garlicky greens with bacon and balsamic vinegar and grilled cheese! The perfect light dinner on a warm day that dips into the autumnal crispness at night. I garnished mine with goat cheese and a bit of hot pepper!

How do you take care when your defenses are down?

