Tags

, ,

This is what happens when you drink wine and pack.

What a weekend it has been.

To give you an indication of the onslaught of craziness associated with this move let me just say that I am currently blogging from Starbucks ( great connection!) because..well..we are not moved in yet and are, at least for the moment, temporarily homeless. So here’s the story, punctuated of course with snippets of food and commentary because after all, this is a food blog.

Friday

Gluten-Free Personal Pizza's

There have been a number of special challenges during this move. The first being that my dear Jaime broke her hand, requiring her to have surgery and rendering her the one handed wonder. The second challenge is our daughter’s gluten/wheat/dairy free diet, which normally requires quite a bit of planning and makes it difficult to eat out. Friday she had a bellyache due to accidentally ingesting cheese, so she didn’t eat much of the lovely little pizza above, but it was quite delicious and handy for using up leftovers. We used;

* one small gluten-free Rustic Crust

* marinara with some extra fresh basil snipped in

* broccoli

* Parmesan and Mozzarella Veggie Shreds

I baked these at 375 for about 15 minutes, I do recommend steaming the broccoli first so it doesn’t dry out and is cooked all the way through. It was really quite yummy and though I would have preferred a bit more protein, it worked for a throw-together meal. I had this;

Veggie "Spaghetti" with goat cheese

Basically, I was standing in the kitchen staring at two yellow squash, a slightly squishy tomato, and some lovely fresh basil and thought..hmmmmm…there has to be something I can make with this. I used my matchstick mandoline….

Shredded Zucchini

…. sautéed some onion and garlic until soft, then added the shredded squash. I didn’t cook the squash long, maybe 5 minutes with the lid on, then I tossed it with the fresh chopped tomato and snipped basil in. The aroma was that of fresh pasta with basil, but it didn’t weigh me down and made me feel wonderful.

Yum!!!

I topped it with goat cheese and the dregs of my Asiago, parmesan, romano blend. Definitely a “make again” dish, and could easily be vegan or you could add additional protein for a more complete meal (walnuts, grilled chicken, salmon!).

Then…we packed…all.night.long.

Scenes from a move.

Saturday

Saturday we awoke bright and early..ready to move to our new place! We picked up the U-Haul and some bagels and coffee for our lovely friends who agreed to help us move. The packing of the U-Haul went off without a hitch and I was feeling pretty lighthearted bouncing down the rutted dirt road to our little cottage in the woods. I sensed a problem when I pulled up to the house and there were a bunch of cars there…my heart sank…and indeed I was correct…

The house was not done. This cottage had been recently gutted and was being renovated, but we were assured it would be done by our move in date. Our landlords were wonderful and very apologetic and because we are getting a deal on the rent, we didn’t throw a fit, but it was a BIG bummer. Needless to say, there was no unpacking Saturday. Instead there was a lot of this.

We had to camp out on the floor of our old house because the beds were packed in the U-Haul. Poor Izzie cried and cried because she didn’t want to be “homeless” (note, watch the figures of speech around literal minded four year olds).  Jaime and I didn’t get much sleep either.

Today

We were able to unpack the U-Haul with the help of those same AMAZING friends who took their entire weekend to help us (thank you!) and we are now completely exhausted and ready to roll into bed RIGHT NOW. The kitchen is still not complete nor is the bathroom..but it’s livable. Eating well has been a challenge this weekend but at least I know I got some exercise with all the furniture moving! I am craving a bath, a salad, and a nice long run!

Not necessarily in that order, that would be a bit backward.

I will post pics of our new place hopefully tomorrow, our internet isn’t up until Thursday so bear with me if posts are a little more sporadic. This new place will be great for cooking and blogging, lots of natural light and a mini greenhouse in the kitchen! And now…it’s back to the grindstone for me!

