My dearest friend Ellie came for a visit today and so in honor of her birthday, and because I desperately wanted to bake even though our house looks like a tornado hit it because we are moving, I made these amazing gluten-free vegan snickerdoodles courtesy of Cybele Pascal. I received her book The Allergen – Free Baker’s Handbook for my birthday and thus far I have been completely amazed by her recipes. Gluten-free baking is difficult enough, but her recipes contain no soy, dairy, or nut products either.

Creaming the shortening and sugar.

There are a few key reasons why her baked goods are so impressive. The first is using a homemade gluten free flour mix, which I think makes a big difference. I have tried any number of flours and flour blends and the trick with gluten free flours is too make sure you have the right combination for what you are making. Some might need more starch (potato or tapioca) but overall a good base for gluten-free baked goods is brown rice flour. It’s light enough for baking but still packs some nutrients.

Yum!!!

The finished dough.

Back to the snickerdoodles now…the finished dough was about the consistency of sugar cookie doughs, I finished them off by rolling them into small balls and rolling those in cinnamon sugar. It was hard not to eat them right at that moment!

Cinnamon sugar bliss...

I baked them until they just cracked on top, the cinnamon and vanilla aroma was totally compelling and I struggled to not snap one up and eat it so fast it burned my tongue. There are lots of good cookies in the world but there is something very simple and classic about snickerdoodles, they are refined and COMPLETELY addicting.

The finished doodles..

I managed to stop myself after two..they had a distinct sugary crunch when I bit into them and this warm, crumbly, flaky inside. They were the perfect complement to an afternoon cup of coffee and a welcome reward after moving boxes all day!

Snickerdoodles

1 1/2 cups brown rice flour

1/2 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup potato starch

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup vegetable shortening

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp flax seed meal mixed with 2 T rice milk

1/4 cup rice milk

1 Tbsp granulated sugar mixed with 2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 375 and line baking sheets with parchment. Mix flax meal with rice milk and leave to gel for at least 20 minutes.

Cream butter and sugar together until very light and fluffy with an electric mixer, about 2 minutes.

Whisk the remaining dry ingredients together and add in batches to the butter, alternating with the rice milk. Mix until smooth (dough will be stiff).

Form the mixture into small bowls and roll in sugar/cinnamon mixture. Place on the baking sheets (do not flatten!).

Bake for ten minutes or until the tops crack. Cool and enjoy!

