Tags

,

Oh how I love snacks, I could eat snacks all day long….salty, crunchy snacks and sweet creamy snacks and cold, icy snacks and spicy snacks…all snacks are good.

But not all are good for you. For a while I felt I just shouldn’t eat snacks, I should eat my meals and be done with it. That doesn’t bode so well for blood sugar or energy or being in a relatively non-hostile mood (I am cranky when I don’t eat). So now I am learning two things about snacks, they need to be healthy with a good balance of nutrients and fat, carbs and protein and you don’t need to eat a whole bag of them. Which is what I usually do.

These snacks are delicious, I am calling them Screamin’ Moroccan Peas because when they came out of the oven they made this odd whining scream like they were saying; please don’t roast me anymore! Please! To which I replied; wah-ha-hah! And back into the oven they went.

Here is what I did.

This morning I took about 1 1/2 cups of dried chickpeas and put them in a bowl. I covered them with lots of fresh filtered water (probably about 4 cups) and;

1 tbsp curry powder

2 tbsp Braggs

pinch salt

1/2 tsp garam masala

I mixed it up a bit then went to work. I tested them when I got home and they were a bit toothsome, plus it was 90 bazillion degrees out and I wasn’t about to turn on the oven. At about 9 pm (so they soaked about 14 hours) I drained them, preheated the oven to 400 and mixed them with;

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tsp garlic powder

pinch salt

Spread on a baking sheet and roast for about 30 minutes or until they are screamin’ and brown and toasty!

Let them cool thoroughly on the baking sheet so they get nice and crunchy, then store in an airtight container.

Oh the deliciousness!!! They are like a gypsy caravan on the tongue! Bursting with sweet and subtle spice and salt and that lovely olive oil. The aroma of toasted curry brings me back to the streets of India, the curious smells, heady curry and milk tea and diesel exhaust. But these don’t smell or taste like diesel exhaust, I promise.

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 1/4 cup

Calories: 129

Total Fat: 7.6 g

Saturated Fat: 1 g

Trans Fat: 0 g

Cholesterol: 0 mg

Sodium: 297 mg

Carbohydrate: 13.5 g

Dietary Fiber: 2.7 g

Sugars: 1.5 g

Protein: 3.7 g

Calcium 3% , Iron 5%

This is a great snack for kids, Izzie loves these. If your kids aren’t into the spices you could just soak the beans in water and then use olive oil and salt but they might be a bit bland. I am going to try a sweet kind as well so stay tuned!

In other news today I made Izzie some lovely oats this morning with hemp seed and hemp milk. I’ll be honest, I am not a fan of the hemp milk and much prefer almond milk but she seems to love it and it has lots of omega’s so I let her go to town.

When making breakfast for kids the worst thing you can say is; eat this, it’s healthy! Watch them scatter like cockroaches!

I like to give things snappy names, like this was Oatmeal Cookie Bowl. So clever…what kid doesn’t want cookies for breakfast? And honestly, you  need to sweeten it, you or I might be fine with plain oatmeal or plain yogurt, kids are not. We use maple syrup, agave nectar or raw honey most of the time. She gets a certain glob and if she chooses to eat it all at once she doesn’t get anymore sweet stuff added on there. When I cooked the oats (gluten-free!) I added vanilla and cinnamon to the water.

For lunch I made these lovely fresh looking meals;

Izzie’s

Mine

Now don’t worry, that wasn’t all I packed her. She adores those sunflower sprouts and they are packed with nutrition. Sprouts are lovely, don’t be afraid of them, just buy them from somewhere reputable, preferably a farmer. Izzie also got peanuts, pesto pasta, and apple slices. I brought yogurt and a protein bar.

When I got home today I tried out my new Women’s Health Big Book of Exercises. That thing is awesome! I will dedicate a post to that later. We kind of scrounged for dinner and I made a fresh “pasta” out of lightly sautéed zucchini threads and fresh tomato and broccoli with some pesto.

And a few of these because they are so yummy!

I needed coffee, it was a long day!

One final note;

Why are these bananas still green? I swear we have had them for two weeks and they haven’t changed at all. They’re organic…so they can’t be genetically modified hulk bananas…what is the deal! I want a banana!!!

Tomorrow should be a good posting day…lots of surprises in store..TGIF!!!

