I have a love-hate relationship with Jillian Michaels.

She may only exist on my tv screen but let me tell you, I yell at her, I scream at her, thank god she isn’t here in person because she would kick my a**. I have discovered an interesting thing about working out, you actually have to work. It isn’t supposed to feel good all the time, you’re supposed to grunt and sweat and curse and your muscles should scream.

That is, if you want to be fit.

I used to do this for my body, you know, to look good. And I still do to some extent but now that I am in my thirties I also find that if I don’t take care of my body and mind I am cranky and sluggish and irritable and want to sleep. That’s just not ok with me. Are there days I want to eat candy and ice cream? Yes, certainly. But the truth is that I feel awful for hours or days after and it just isn’t worth it anymore. Believe it or not I actually prefer feeling like this;

Post boot camp workout..

Tonight is Family Date Night.

We usually do any number of things on family date night; take a walk, eat ice cream, watch movies….we just spend time together, stay up a little late, and snuggle a lot. I am very much looking forward to it as it was/is a long week. This morning my desk looked like this;

…and it didn’t look much different when I left except the breakfast was eaten.

More later on our date night!

